الطبقة الحروب بلدي الحمار

classwar

بواسطة: ويليام ريفرز بيت، Truthout | إد] |

لا بد لي من العيش من أجل الآخرين وليس لنفسي: هذا هو من الطبقة المتوسطة الأخلاق.

- جورج برنارد شو

لقد قلت هذا لسنوات على سنوات، ولكن لا مناص من تكراره: سلاح أكثر من رائع، المخيف، وفعالة في ترسانة [...]

نظام لا يمكن الدفاع عنه أخلاقيا الشركات

110415a للنقابات

من قبل: جيم هايتاور، Truthout |

أنه من الجيد أن نعرف أن بعض مشايخ الشركات لا يشعر بالألم من مرؤوسيه بهم - هؤلاء العمال الأكثر تضررا الذين يحافظون على إجبارهم على بذل المزيد من الجهد لأقل مكافأة. نأخذ مثالا من جانيت، وسائل الإعلام العملاقة التي تملك 23 محطة تلفزيونية و 82 الصحف، بما في ذلك الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية اليوم.

في وقت مبكر من هذا العام، وأخطرت الموظفين جانيت ذلك، للسنة الثالثة على [...]

استطلاع: أفضل وسيلة لمكافحة العجز: رفع الضرائب على الأغنياء

TaxTheRich

| من قبل: ستيفن توما، صحف ماكلاتشي |

واشنطن - وإذ يثير جزعها ارتفاع الدين الوطني ومتشائم بشكل متزايد حول مسار بلادهم، فإن الأميركيين واضحة عن الكيفية التي يريدون مهاجمة عجز الحكومة ميزانية المدرج: زيادة الضرائب على الأثرياء والحفاظ على أيدي الخروج من الرعاية الصحية والطبية.

في نفس الوقت، ويقولون ان الحكومة لا ينبغي رفع سقف الديون القانونية، والتي يجب على الحكومة أن [...]

معارك الميزانية: الصوت، الغضب والتزييف

wmon_budget_wars

من قبل: ريتشارد وولف دال، Truthout |

أسابيع من المناقشات حظيت بتغطية إعلامية مكثفة - بعض في الكونغرس، وأكثر في وسائل الإعلام - جلب الجمهوريين والديمقراطيين إلى اتفاق بشأن الميزانية. لتحقيق أقصى قدر من الاهتمام العام، وأنها هددت الحكومة اغلاق ممكن. وقال كلا الطرفين أن العجز الحكومي الكبير والديون المتراكمة كانت "مشاكل خطيرة". واتفقوا على أن حلها يتطلب خفض الإنفاق فقط، وليس زيادة الإيرادات. في انسجام تام، وأنها [...]

وبيع وشراء من وزارة الدفاع الأمريكية (الجزء الثاني)

mehjoo20110407212646593

بقلم دينا Rasor | نشر في Truthout.org |

قبل أسبوعين، في جزء واحد من هذه السلسلة الجزء الثاني، وأنا وضعت مشاكل العسكرية، وزارة الدفاع (وزارة الدفاع) المدنية، المقاول وموظفي الكونغرس التي يمر بها "الباب الدوار"، وعدم وضوح الخطوط الفاصلة بين كثيرا من العمل ل الجيش والضغط للحصول على عقود للجيش. هناك العديد والعديد من الأفراد الذين تدور من خلال [...]

Class Warfare My Ass

classwar

by: William Rivers Pitt, Truthout | Op-Ed |                                       

I have to live for others and not for myself: that’s middle-class morality.

- George Bernard Shaw

I have been saying this for years upon years, but it bears repeating: the most awesome, fearsome, and effective weapon in the arsenal of [...]

A Morally Untenable Corporate System

110415a-union

by: Jim Hightower, Truthout |

It’s good to know that some corporate chieftains do feel the pain of their underlings — those hard-hit workers who keep being forced to do more for less reward. Take the example of Gannett, the media giant that owns 23 television stations and 82 newspapers, including USA Today.

Early this year, Gannett employees were notified that, for the third year in a [...]

Poll: Best Way to Fight Deficits: Raise Taxes on the Rich

TaxTheRich

| by: Steven Thomma, McClatchy Newspapers |

Washington – Alarmed by rising national debt and increasingly downbeat about their country’s course, Americans are clear about how they want to attack the government’s runway budget deficits: raise taxes on the wealthy and keep hands off of Medicare and Medicaid.

At the same time, they say that the government should not raise the legal debt ceiling, which the government must [...]

Budget Battles: Sound, Fury and Fakery

wmon_budget_wars

by: Richard D. Wolff, Truthout |

Weeks of highly publicized debates – some in Congress, more in the mass media – brought Republicans and Democrats to a budget deal. To maximize public attention, they threatened a possible government shutdown. Both parties said that large government deficits and accumulated debt were “serious problems.” They agreed that solving them required only spending cuts, not revenue increases. In unison, they [...]

The Buying and Selling of the Pentagon (Part II)

mehjoo20110407212646593

By Dina Rasor | Posted On Truthout.org |

Two weeks ago, in part one of this two part series, I laid out the problems of the military, the Department of Defense (DoD) civilian, contractor and Congressional staff going through the “revolving door” and greatly blurring the lines between working for the military and lobbying for contracts for the military. There are many, many individuals who revolve through [...]